Building a Basket Using Vintage Fabrics and Grommets

February 16, 2008


I’ve been doing some experimenting building baskets and boxes out of fabric.  I have a lot of grommets and a few grommet tools.  I had an idea for a box/basket and a color combination, brown and blue.


I sandwiched 5, 7″x7″, pieces of stiff felt between a brown and a medium blue polka dot on light blue fabric.  The pieces are sewed together like a pillow.  Sew with wrong sides together then turn.  I was making it up as I went along.  I discovered that it was best to sew around the bottom piece of felt. 


My first attempt at grommets failed.  I found this new kind of grommet at the craft store.  It has prongs that can be flattened down.  With a little fray check around the holes, these grommets worked great on my fabric basket.


I folded and tied the ends together with ribbons. VOILA! I have a box/basket.

I made some boo-boos with this one, so I’ll be keeping it.  Now that I figured out how to put the baskets together, I think I’ll be making a few more.  I have an idea for some gift baskets.

47 Responses to “Building a Basket Using Vintage Fabrics and Grommets”

  1. that is awesome!!! Love it!!!

    With friendship,

  2. cindyiscrafty Says:

    Awesome, Sue. I like that the grommets make it able to collapse if you are not using it.

  3. Thank you. You could probably reverse it if you wanted as well.

  4. Belinda Says:

    Sue, that is a great basket! I think you could make a set of them in different sizes, and with different fabrics, and use them for organizers. I can see how those would make great organizers in a sewing or craft room.

    You spend more time in the sewing room than you’ve let me know. ;)

  5. Thank you, Sue B.

    LOL @ Belinda. I have 2 sewing machines! I’m just too pig-headed to follow a pattern most the time. Watch out if I ever get a serger!

    I think those boxes would make great organizers too.

  6. earth heart Says:

    Awesome, I adore this!

  7. Michelle Says:

    Wow Sue! That is great! Could you use pieces of boxes instead of felt for a sturdier basket?

  8. Yeah! Sure! I’ve made something similar with cardboard inside. I turned it into a little bowl.

  9. Heather Says:

    This is great! It’s actually something like what I’ve been looking for for a storage solution for my 3 yo’s Barbie accessories!

    What size did you make yours? Looking at your finished (but before constructed) pattern, I made one 10×10. The grommets would give it reinforcement for the sides, so I don’t feel that it’ll collapse, but out of curiosity sake, what size are yours?

    Thanks so much! These will make great accessories to either my son’s room (nautical theme) or my daughters (pink butterflies), to even mine! (getting ready to be redone in red and red/white toile- I’ll email you some pictures when I get them done if you shoot me your email!)

    This would be such a great idea for nesting baskets also, like for the living room, or laundry room. I wonder, have you been ambitious enough to use a quilted fabric (pre-made or your own)? I would love extra photos if you have them. you never know, you may inspire even more!

  10. Sandra :) Says:

    Someone posted a link to this project on their blog yesterday, I saw it last night and was quite intrigued – then I DREAMED about it during the night! I made a bunch of coasters earlier this year to go in my Christmas box, and I think this would make a funky/fun little holder to go with each set – it’s not the typical little fabric box – the grommets add a bit of zing! Thanks for the inspiration :)

  11. Heather, my fabric box was a 7″x7″.

    Sandra you had me giggling this morning about your dream. It must be your destiny to custom coaster holders for Christmas.

    I hope you have fun making your own fabric boxes. Thanks for looking at the tutorial.

  12. Lori Says:

    This is, down to the fabrics you used, exactly what I’ve had in my head for a couple of months now!! This is so great! I need to pick up some grommets and try this out for myself.

  13. LOL, I can’t help you with the fabric. I think I used all of my polka dot print up. Save your 40% off coupons. If you’re going to make more than one box, you may want to buy a tool set too.

  14. Melissa Says:

    Wow, what a great idea for a box!! Thanks for sharing!

  15. lori Says:

    these are great! i would love some in my office. where did you find the pattern?

  16. Pattern? I didn’t use a pattern, I just made it. It isn’t hard to make.

  17. Jen M Says:

    This is wonderful! Thanks so much for the idea.

  18. meggiecat Says:

    Very clever and clean design. Thanks.

  19. Wendy Says:

    That’s so beautiful! I’m gonna have to make some of those for Christmas presents. Thanks for sharing :)

  20. Marianne Says:

    gorgeous gorgeous idea…thank you!!

  21. Nancy Says:

    So wonderful–I’m going to start some for Christmas right away.

    Thanks for the inspiration!

  22. Thank you Jen M, Meggiecat, Wendy, Marianne and Nancy.

  23. Shea Says:

    Found you via Craft. This is absolutely fabulous. Thanks so much for sharing. Now I’ve got a great reason to get my sewing machine out again!

  24. Thank you for visiting, Shea. Have fun “bonding” with your sewing machine.

  25. ginger Says:

    What a great gift this would be for house welcoming plants in it, papers bushes ect.
    Love this whole idea of the basket there so much you can do with it.Love it!
    hugs ginger

  26. Hi Sue.
    I got to your blog site via Thimble.
    Thanks so much for the tutorial.
    What a GREAT project. I love the blue & brown. They go so well together don’t the?
    I will definately be back again, and again.
    Also,if you don’t mind I would like to add your blog address to my crafts area on my blog site.
    Thanks again.
    Have a great week.

  27. Great ideas Ginger! I have some scrappy friends ;-) that could probably use a few boxes to go with their gifts.

    Thank you Lois! You certainly may add my link! Thanks again!

  28. […] tutorial on Basket Using Vintage Fabrics and Grommets on Perpetualplum’s Weblog which houses lots of interesting tips on crafts and recycling was found […]

  29. Thank you! I can see awesome easter baskets made from this, and for every other holiday, I wanted to make some baskets for toys in my kids’ room, this is so great of you to share your talent!!

  30. You’re welcome!

    The fabric baskets would make great holiday baskets.

  31. Andrea Says:

    Adorable basket! I saw it featured on Skip to my Lou’s blog. BTW, you should totally invest in a crop-a-dile.It is made to set eyelets for scrapbooking, but it punches through metal, chipboard, fabric, paper,… And you can set jumbo eyelets with it which are very similar to your grommets. SOOOO EASY! Keep crafting… Andrea

  32. Hi Andrea, I have a crop-a-dile.

    It’s very easy to set the grommets in the photo. Also, I have set regular sewing grommets the old fashion way with a grommet tool and hammer and haven’t had any problems either.

    Here’s an example,

  33. Yael Says:

    What a beautiful basket! I would love to make one.
    Do you have a pattern you can share, or at least the dimensions of the basket when it’s flat?

  34. It’s 5 7″x7″ pieces put in a cross (+) pattern, so that would be about 21″ wide by 21″ long.

  35. Tom Smith Says:

    Thanks for this article

  36. erinmalia Says:

    i made my own just this week and am completely satisfied with the results. thanks for doing the creative part for me!

  37. […] Make your gift over the top with these cool fabric baskets […]

  38. Day Says:

    That’s a nice ideia. I’ll be posting it in my blog (in postuguese). I hope that’s okay to you.
    Lovely blog!

  39. […] Thanks: Perpetual Plum (criação, e fotos) […]

  40. […] Fabric basket from Perpetual Plum. These fold down flat for easy storage. These would make fun gift baskets or just baskets for bookshelf storage. […]

  41. […] box {basic, nesting, collapsible, with […]

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers

